About

Firmament of colours

Houses and landscapes, mother country, identity, fairy tales and folklore – these are the themes of Antje Taubert’s wilful and presumptuous paintings and drawings. Factually, they are everyday objects, different types of houses, consumer items, historical artefacts or reading matter. Antje Taubert devours them with her intense drawing style, holding hard to their actual, physical form. These highly provocative, vibrantly colourful signature drawings go straight to the essential, downright symbolic appearance of buildings, mountains, manmade object, etc. To use Dürer’s expression, she “wrenches” her subjects “out” of all narrative contexts, concentrating wholly on characteristic forms and colours.
Which then reappear in her paintings – harshly analytical, while equally transporting to a new aesthetic, a wholly unique presentational mode. In her paintings, Antje Taubert favours extracts of form and colour which have become far removed from the original event, creating a structured world full of harmony and coloured light. Her grouped paintings on various themes appear not only geometrically ordered, but mathematically redefined and freshly inspired.

Her more recent group of works, “Moscow Confectionery” (“Moskauer Konfekt”), which captures confection and chocolate wrappers from 1930s chocolate factories in Moscow, such as Krasnyj Oktjabr and RotFront, has spawned a particularly large body of paintings with geometric figurations.
The fact that supremacist and constructivist design principles were soon to penetrate many areas of design in the Soviet Union, from political posters to the artisan industry and packaging design, is due in part to a politically motivated promotion of so-called artist-designers.
Antje Taubert purifies the confectionery and sweet wrappers of their typographical or pictorial ingredients which, during the 1930s, obscured these revolutionary design principles or rendered them folkloric. She reduces to a timeless geometrical scaffold of coloured elements, re-animating those artists’ trail-blazing radicalism, whilst creating a bridge to the digitally dominated reality of the 21st century, with all its cultural and social consequences for perception and aesthetics.

What emerges are coolly coloured paintings; square surfaces measured in opulent geometrical figures and evolutions of form. These often large-scale pictures have nothing more in common with the small drawings that prepared and paved the way for them. Geometric shapes spread out in waves, stack and overlap one another. The shapes are all based on squares, triangles and circles – the beauty of geometry: entirely devoid of mysticism or transcendence, but full of clear breadths and mirth. Russian green, red, blue, yellow – it is a feast of diagonal and mirrored symmetries of the delicately graded colours. These bring movement to the centred compositions, as if they are rotating, their energies flooding over the edges of the picture.
Radically simplified, manifold multiplied and monumental, Antje Taubert transports elements of the real wrappers to a new aesthetic existence as panel paintings – powerful, clear and celebratory.

As in previous picture cycles, Antje Taubert’s “Moscow Confectionery” leaves behind the original reference to reality and enters the realm of concrete art.
Those small, dark, very picturesque square images in her studio bear witness to her readiness for the next new start; the next metamorphosis of form and colour.

Dr. Gabi Ivan, 2015

Antje Taubert lives and works in Berlin.

2002 – 2003
Master class in Fine Arts / Painting
Prof. Hanns Schimansky

2001
Diploma of Fine Arts / Painting University of Arts KHB, Berlin
Prof. Hanns Schimansky

1995 – 2001
study of Fine Arts / Painting University of Arts KHB, Berlin
Prof. Werner Liebmann / Prof. Hanns Schimansky

1991 – 1994
apprenticeship in Printing / Ofset printing

1986 – 1989
apprenticeship as an Concrete skilled worker withhigh school

1969
born in Berlin

Über

Firmament der Farben

Haus und Landschaft, Heimat, Identität, Märchen und Folklore – das sind Themen, denen sich die Malerin und Zeichnerin Antje Taubert eigenwillig und eingreifend widmet. Konkret sind das Gebrauchsgegenstände, Häusertypen, Konsumartikel, historische Objekte oder Lektüren. Antje Taubert erobert sie sich durch intensives Zeichnen, immer dicht an den realen Erscheinungen. Diese sehr lebendigen, handschriftlichen und farblich schwingenden Zeichnungen zielen immer auf die wesentliche, geradezu zeichenhafte Erscheinung von Gebäuden, Gebirgen, Gestaltetem etc. Sie „reißt“ – mit Dürers Wort – ihre Motive aus allen erzählerischen Zusammenhängen „heraus“, konzentriert sich auf charakteristische Formen und Farben.
Diese kehren in den Gemälden wieder – streng analytisch und dabei gleichsam übersetzt in eine neue Ästhetik, in eine völlig andersartige Darstellungsweise. Antje Taubert bevorzugt in der Malerei Farb- und Formextrakte, die sich vom Gesehenen weit entfernt haben und eine strukturierte Welt voller Harmonie und farbigem Licht erzeugen. Ihre Gemäldegruppen zu den jeweiligen Themen scheinen nicht nur geometrisch geordnet, sondern mathematisch umgedeutet und neu beseelt.

Insbesondere aus ihrer jüngeren Werkgruppe „Moskauer Konfekt“, die Dekore von Bonbon- und Schokoladenpapieren der 1930er Jahre aus Moskauer Schokoladenfabriken wie „Krasnyj Oktjabr“ oder „RotFront“ aufgreift, ist ein großes Konvolut von Gemälden mit geometrischen Figurationen erwachsen.
Daß schon bald die suprematistischen und konstruktivistischen Gestaltungsprinzipien in der Sowjetunion in viele Bereiche der Gestaltung vom politischen Plakat bis zum Kunstgewerbe und Verpackungsdesign drangen, ist auch Ergebnis der kunstpolitischen Förderung sog. Künstler-Dekorateure.
Antje Taubert reinigt die Konfekt- und Bonbonpapiere von allen typografischen und bildhaften Zutaten, die in den 1930er Jahren diese einst revolutionären Gestaltungsprinzipien verunklart und folklorisiert haben. Sie reduziert auf ein zeitlos geometrisches Gerüst farbiger Elemente. Es holt die einmal bahnbrechende Radikalität der Künstler wieder hervor und schlägt zugleich eine Brücke in die digital dominierte Wirklichkeit des 21. Jahrhunderts mit ihren kulturellen und sozialen Folgen für Wahrnehmung und Ästhetik.

Entstanden sind kühlfarbige Gemälde, deren quadratische Flächen durch opulente geometrische Figuren und Formentwicklungen vermessen werden. Diese oft großformatigen Bilder weisen keine Gemeinsamkeiten mehr mit den vorbereitenden und wegweisenden kleinen Zeichnungen auf. Geometrische Formen breiten sich wellenförmig aus, staffeln und überlagern sich. Alle basieren auf Quadrat, Dreieck und Kreis – das ist Schönheit der Geometrie ganz ohne Mystik und Transzendenz, aber voller lichter Weite und Heiterkeit. Russischgrün, Rot, Blau, Gelb – es ist ein Fest aus diagonalen und seitenverkehrten Symmetrien der feingestuften Farben. Diese bringen die zentrierten Kompositionen in Bewegung, ins Rotieren. Ihre Energien überfluten die Bildränder.
Radikal vereinfacht, vielfach multipliziert und monumental überführt Antje Taubert Elemente der realen Einwickelpapiere in eine neue ästhetische Existenz als Tafelbilder – kraftvoll, klar und festlich.
Mit „Moskauer Konfekt“ läßt Antje Taubert – wie schon mit vorhergehenden Bilderzyklen – den ursprünglichen Realitätsbezug hinter sich und betritt das Areal der Konkreten Kunst.

Mit kleinen dunklen, sehr malerischen Bildquadraten im Atelier vergewissert sie sich aber bereits des nächsten Neubeginns und der nächsten Form- und Farbenmetamorphose.

Dr. Gabi Ivan, 2015

Antje Taubert lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

2002 – 2003
Meisterschülerstudium
bei Prof. Hanns Schimansky

2001
Diplom Bildende Kunst / Malerei, Kunsthochschule Berlin
bei Prof. Hanns Schimansky

1995 – 2001
Studium Bildende Kunst / Malerei Kunsthochschule Berlin
bei Prof. Werner Liebmann und Prof. Hanns Schimansky

1991 – 1994
Ausbildung Drucktechnik / Ofsetdruck

1986 – 1989
Lehre Betonfacharbeiterin mit Abitur

1969
in Berlin geboren